Actuarial Association of Europe

The Actuarial Association of Europe (AAE) was established in 1978 under the name Groupe Consultatif to represent actuarial associations in Europe. Its purpose is to provide advice and opinions to the various organisations of the European Union – the Commission, the Council of Ministers, the European Parliament, EIOPA and their various committees – on actuarial issues in European legislation. The AAE currently has 37 member associations in 35 European countries, representing over 20,000 actuaries. Advice and comments provided by the AAE on behalf of the European actuarial profession are totally independent of industry interests.

Members representing the Society of Actuaries in Ireland

Maurice Whyms Membre Suppléant
Yvonne Lynch Membre Suppléant
Member, Education Committee
Member, Standards, Freedoms and Professionalism Committee
Member, Standards Project Team
Convenor, Code of Conduct Task Force
Philip Shier Member, PEPP Working Group
Tony O'Riordan Membre Titulaire
Chairperson, Insurance Committee
Declan Lavelle Member, Insurance Committee
Member, Solvency 11 Working Group - Pillar 1 Non-Life
Cathal Fleming Member, Pensions Committee 
Shane Fahey Member, Solvency 11 Working Group - Pillar 1 Life 
Member, Consumer Protection Working Group
Bence Zaupper Member, Solvency II Internal Models Working Group 
Caroline Twomey Member, Solvency II Internal Models Working Group 
John Pender Member of the Social Security Sub-Committee Task Force on Adequacy of Pensions
Bryan O'Higgins Member, Risk Management Committee