Council of the Society

The Council manages the affairs of the Society. Council is elected by the Fellow members of the Society.

The Council appoints working committees to undertake, under the direction of the Council, some of the detailed work of the Society. The committees work on current issues and research in such areas as demography, pensions, life assurance, general insurance, investments, health care, enterprise risk management, social policy, international actuarial issues and the education and training of actuaries.

2022/2023 Council


Declan Lavelle

Declan Lavelle was elected President of the Society of Actuaries in Ireland at the Society’s AGM on 16th June 2022.



Brid Quigley

Brid Quigley Vice President

Michael Culligan

Michael Culligan Honorary Secretary

Cecilia Cheuk

Cecilia Cheuk Treasurer
Immediate Past President    

Sheeliagh Mailn

Sheelagh Malin  
Council Members  
Aisling Breathnach Niamh Gaudin
Eoghan Burns Gareth McQuillan
John Coggins Gerard Nolan
Paul Connor Jennifer Quigley
Nuala Crimmins Paul Torsney